A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Tuesday, September 14, 2021, from 1:00-2:00 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

Toykea S. Jones, Chair Lisa B. Smith, Vice Chair R. Bruce Bradley (ex officio) Carlton F. Bennett Robert S. Corn

Unwanna B. Dabney Jerri F. Dickseski Kay A. Kemper P. Murry Pitts

Absent from the Committee: Alton (Jay) Harris

Also present were: President Brian O. Hemphill

Augustine Agho Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Morris Foster Casey Kohler Ashley Schumaker

Al Wilson

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 1:00 p.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 16, 2021, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bennett and seconded by Ms. Smith, the minutes of the June 16, 2021, meeting were approved by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bennett, Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Smith, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing an update on a personnel issue, the appointment of a faculty member with tenure and designation as the Robert M. Stanton Chair of Real Estate and Economic Development, and an honorary degree. The motion was seconded and approved by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bennett, Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during Closed Session: Provost Agho, Vice President Foster, Judy Bowman, Casey Kohler, Ashley Schumaker, and Al Wilson.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the Closed Session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the Committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a vote of the Committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bennett, Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bennett and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the committee approved the appointment of Simon Stevenson as Professor of Finance with tenure and designation as the Robert M. Stanton Chair of Real Estate and Economic Development by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bennett, Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Dr. Dabney and seconded by Ms. Kemper, the committee approved the award of an honorary degree to Angela Bassett, actress, producer, director, and motivational speaker, by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bennett, Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Corn and seconded by Ms. Kemper, the committee approved 31 faculty appointments, 35 administrative faculty appointments, four emeritus/emerita appointments, and the appointment of Dr. Edward S. Neukrug as the Batten Endowed Chair of Counseling by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bennett, Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

V. INFORMATION ITEMS

Provost Agho provided information on the promotion and tenure review processes, including the makeup of review committees at the department, college, and University level and how members of these committees are selected.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 p.m.