# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

# Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Wednesday, June 16, 2021

## **MINUTES**

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Wednesday, June 16 at 3:00 p.m. to discuss or transact business statutorily required or necessary to continue operations of the Board and the discharge of its lawful purposes, duties and responsibilities. The meeting was held electronically using the Zoom application pursuant to § 4-0.01(g) of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. Present from the Committee were:

Toykea S. Jones, Chair Lisa B. Smith, Vice Chair Kay A. Kemper (ex officio) R. Bruce Bradley (ex officio)

Robert S. Corn Unwanna B. Dabney Jerri F. Dickseski P. Murry Pitts

Nina W. Brown (Faculty Representative)

Absent from the Committee: Carlton F. Bennett

Alton (Jay) Harris

Also present were: Augustine Agho

Judy Bowman Carson Evans Morris Foster Nina Gonser Casey Kohler Donna Meeks Earl Nance Tom Odom Renee Olander Brian Payne Jay Wright

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 3:00 p.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 22, 2021, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Bradley, the minutes of the April 22, 2021, meeting were approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

#### II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Smith, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing the appointment of three faculty members with tenure, an honorary degree, and faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees." The motion was seconded by Ms. Dickseski and approved by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None*). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during Closed Session: Provost Agho, Vice President Foster, Judy Bowman, Tom Odom, and Jay Wright.

## III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the Closed Session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the Committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a vote of the Committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Dickseski, the committee approved by roll-call vote the appointment with tenure of Zhang Lei, Associate Professor of Finance, Jomo Mutegi, Associate Professor of Teaching and Learning, and Suzanne Wright, Associate Professor of Nursing, an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree for Reverend Anthony C. Paige, and the following faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees: Academic and Research Advancement, Nina Brown; Administration and Finance, Steve Hsiung; University Advancement, David Burdige; and Student Enhancement and Engagement, James Rhoades (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

## IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Ms. Smith, the committee approved 40 faculty appointments, 19 administrative faculty appointments, and 16 emeritus/emerita appointments by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None*).

## V. REGULAR AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Corn, the committee approved by roll-call vote proposed revisions to three policies: Evaluation of Tenured Faculty, Tenure, and Promotion in Rank. The revisions provide clarification, consistency, and updates to several sections of these policies. (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

#### VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received the Annual Report of Committee Actions and the Report on Promotions in Rank Effective for 2021-22. Provost Agho presented the following demographic data on faculty and students from 2011-2020.

Student enrollment by race and ethnicity
Teaching and research faculty by race and ethnicity
Administrative and professional faculty by race and ethnicity

He also provided data on the race, ethnicity and gender diversity of current tenure-track faculty and non-tenure eligible faculty.

Vice President Foster gave an overview of research developments. He noted that the University's research enterprise shut down as of March 2020. However, in the last two months, most research has reopened, and we are back to the pre-pandemic level for research. During the shutdown, faculty were attentive to safety and found ways to be productive.

Dr. Foster announced that Jefferson Lab anticipates a commitment of \$400M over the next six years to establish the fourth DOE supercomputing facility in the nation. ODU's proximity gives us an opportunity to be an academic partner and potentially receive funding for faculty positions for supercomputer research users.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:56 p.m.