OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes ThursdayJune 11, 2020

MINUTES

An emergency meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, June 11 at 11:00 a.m. to discuss or transact business statutorily required or necessary to continue operations of the Board and the discharge of its lawful purpose, duties and responsibilities. The meeting was held electronically using the Zoom application pursuant to Executive Amendment 28 to HB 29 (2020). Present from the Committee were:

	Toykea S. Jones, Chair Lisa B. Smith (ex officio) Kay A. Kemper (ex officio) R. Bruce Bradley Robert S. Corn Unwanna B. Dabney Jerri F. Dickseski Alton J. Harris Maurice D. Slaughter
Also present were:	Augustine Agho Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Annette Finley-Croswhite Kate Hawkins Casey Kohler Sebastian Kuhn Donna Meeks John Nunnery Tom Odom Brian Payne September Sanderlin Narketta Sparkman-Key Ariana Wright Jay Wright

The meeting was called to order at 11:01 a.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 23, 2020 MINUTES

A motion was made by Mr. Corn and seconded by Mr. Slaughter to approve the voluntary closure of four degree programs and nine certificate programs. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Doney, Harris Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None)

A motion was made by Mr. Corn and seconded by Mr. Slaughter to approve renaming the Center for Cybersecurity Education and Research (CCSER) the School of Cybersecurity. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None)

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS