FINAL – APPROVED BY COMMITTEE 12/4/14

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, September 18, 2014

MINUTES

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, September 18, 2014, at 10:30 a.m. in the York/Potomac River Room of Webb Center on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

Lisa B. Smith

Andres Sousa-Poza (Faculty Representative)

Absent were: Richard Cheng

J. William Cofer

Also present were: John R. Broderick, President

Judy Bowman Karen Eck Morris Foster Carol Simpson Jay Wright Johnny Young

I. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 12, 2014 MINUTES

The minutes of the June 12, 2014 meeting were approved.

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss the appointment representatives to Board of Visitors' committees.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTION

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Dr. Theberge and seconded by Mr. Bennett to approve the appointment of faculty repre Board of Visitors' committees for 2014-15. The motion to appoint Andres Sousa

Academic and Research Advancement Committee, John Lombard to the Administration and Finance Committee, Sebastian Kuhn to the Institutional Advancement Committee, and Linda Miller-Dunleavy to the Student Advancement Committee was approved by unanimous vote (Bernd, Bennett, Kilmer, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Bennett to approve the resolutions on 31 faculty appointments and 56 administrative appointments. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bernd, Bennett, Kilmer, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Bennett to approve the proposed revision to the policy on Academic Rank and Criteria for Ranks. The revision concerns the section of the policy that describes the rank of Professor and removes language that seems repetitive and could be confusing. The motion was approved by unanimous vote. (Bernd, Bennett, Kilmer, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Bennett to approve the proposed revisions to the policy on Tenure. The revisions require a summary of minority opinion from the department committee and the college committee when there is not a unanimous vote on a tenure recommendation. Committee members approved an amendment to the policy language to use the term non-unanimous vote instead of split vote. The motion was approved by unanimous vote. (Bernd, Bennett, Kilmer, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Bennett to approve the proposal to rename the Department of Accounting as the School of Accountancy and the Department of Urban Studies and Public Administration as the School of Public Service. Renaming these two departments will enhance their visibility in the Strome College of Business. The motion was approved by unanimous vote. (Bernd, Bennett, Kilmer, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Bennett to approve the proposal to rename the Regional Studies Institute as the Center for Economic Analysis and Policy. The activities of the unit have broadened and now include projects with a statewide focus, including the new "State of the State" report that will be produced beginning in 2015 under the sponsorship and support of the Virginia Chamber of Commerce. The motion was approved by unanimous vote. (Bernd, Bennett, Kilmer, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Bennett to approve the proposal to rename the Experiential Learning Office as Prior Learning Assessment. The change to "Prior Learning Assessment" more accurately describes the purpose of the office, which is to assess for credit the college-level knowledge gained through work, life experience and self-

study. The motion was approved by unanimous vote. (BerndBod Tc 0.04(Bodt)-2h5 ego 5 72 709.2 TmKilmer Theberge, Reidy, S2h5 mith).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received information on one request for a leave of absence without compensation.