## BOARD OF VISITORS ACADEMIC AND RESEARCH ADVANCEMENT COMMITTEE JUNE 13, 2013 MINUTES

Present representing the Board of Visitors were:

Kenneth E. Ampy, Chair Dee D. Gilmore, Vice Chair Fred J. Whyte (ex-officio) Barry M. Kornblau (ex officio) Frank Batten, Jr. David L. Bernd John F. Biagas Luke M. Hillier Frank Reidy

Present at the invitation of the Committee were:

John R. Broderick Carol Simpson Karen Eck Alonzo Brandon Judy Bowman Rodger Harvey Ellen Neufeldt Wood Selig Jay Wright Johnny Young

## I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 26, 2013 MINUTES

The minutes of the April 26, 2013 meeting were approved.

## II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss the request for the exceptional hire of a faculty member and the appointment of one faculty member with tenure.

## III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Mr. Bernd and seconded by Mr. Biagas to approve the request for the exceptional hire of a faculty member. The

motion to proceed with the hire was approved by unanimous vote (Ampy, Batten, Bernd, Biagas, Gilmore, Hillier, Reidy).

A motion was made by Mr. Bernd and seconded by Mr. Biagas to approve the appointment of one faculty member with tenure. The motion to appoint