# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

# Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, December 8, 2016

## **MINUTES**

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, December 8 at 9:00 a.m. in the River Rooms of Webb Center on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

Carlton F. Bennett R. Bruce Bradley Richard T. Cheng Michael J. Henry Toykea S. Jones Kay A. Kemper

Mary Maniscalco-Theberge

Frank Reidy Lisa B. Smith

Andres Sousa-Poza (Faculty Representative)

Also present were: John R. Broderick, President

Augustine O. Agho Alonzo Brandon

Jane Bray
Judy Bowman
Andy Casiello
Jane Dané
Morris Foster
Elizabeth Kersey
Ellen Neufeldt
Brian Payne
Stacie Raymer
Lynn Ridinger
David Swain
Johnny Young

Jay Wright

### I. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 22, 2016 MINUTES

The minutes of the September 22, 2016 meeting were approved.

#### II. TENURE REVIEW PROCESS

Provost Austin Agho presented a flow chart to illustrate the steps in the tenure review process and answered questions about the process.

### III. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss nominations for two honorary degrees, a recommendation for the award of tenure to a faculty member, and mid-year tenure recommendations. The Committee convened again in open session.

### III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTION

A motion was made by Mr. Henry and seconded by Mr. Reidy to award an honorary degree to Barry M. Kornblau and Ting Xu. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Cheng, Henry, Jones, Kemper, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

A motion was made by Mr. Henry and seconded by Ms. Kemper to award tenure to five faculty members: Thomas R. Allen from the Department of Political Science and Geography; James W. Lee from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Tamer Nadeem from the Department of Computer Science; Daniel M. Russell from the School of Physical Therapy and Athletic Training; and Christian W. Zemlin from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Cheng, Henry, Jones,

A motion was made by Mr. Henry and seconded by Mr. Reidy to approve a Master of Science degree program in speech-language pathology. The purpose of the program is to prepare students to be certified, licensed speech-language pathologists, the entry level degree required for state licensure and certification. A Master of Science in Education in speech-language pathology has been offered since the early 1980s. This proposal seeks to change the degree to an M.S. instead of an M.S.Ed. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Cheng, Henry, Jones, Kemper, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

### VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Provost Austin Agho introduced Andy Casiello, Associate Vice President for Distance Learning,