A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, April 18, 2024, from 11:10 a.m.-12:15 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

R. Bruce Bradley, Presiding Chair (ex officio)

P. Murry Pitts (ex officio)

Dennis M. Ellmer Juan M. Montero, II

Keshav Vermani (Student Representative)

Also present from the Board: Robert S. Corn

Jerri F. Dickseski Andrew Hodge

Kay A. Kemper (via Zoom) E.G. (Rudy) Middleton, III

Ross A. Mugler

Absent from the Board: Brian Holland

Toykea Jones Rick Wyatt

Also present were: President Brian O. Hemphill

Brian K. Payne Ken Fridley Maggie Barber Alonzo Brandon David Flanagan Annie Gibson Oscar Gonzalez

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Dr. Montero, the committee approved the appointment of Dr. Justin A Haegele, Professor of Health and Physical Education, Department of Human Movement Studies and Special Education, as the Colgate Darden Endowed Professor by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Dr. Montero the committee approved the dual employments of those named, finding each employment in the best interests of the University by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Montero, PHIMILE).

research enterprise, such as undue foreign influence. Noted was the policy NSPM-33, which requires a certification from research organizations awarded more than \$50 million per year in total Federal research funding, that they have implemented a research security program that includes the four elements: cybersec